Yay!! Pretty mowed grass… :)

My pretty space

My pretty space

 

A mowed lawn makes SUCH a difference!! We have had quite a bit of company come through since we moved here, we love having company and when we were in the city we even had so much that we actually got rather tired of it! But here it is really nice. People come to visit and tell us how much potential our place has… that is until we were finally tired enough of our long grass and instead of waiting for our mower to be fixed (every time one thing is fixed, Ivan finds more that need fixing) we rented a field trimmer and with the help of Ivan’s brothers and dad, got the yard mowed and raked and cleaned up.

Ivan busy cutting the grass

Ivan busy cutting the grass

 

image (2)

Trimmed trees and previously hidden flowers.

 

I even trimmed up the apple trees and the Mayday tree. It is amazing how beautiful and cared for the yard looks now, and the lilies  and irises that appeared from under the trees should be gorgeous next year, now that they have light.

It is SOOO nice to have a lawn that you can enjoy… I was even outside playing tag with the kids today! 🙂 After we got the lawn cleaned up, our next visitors commented on how beautiful a place we had, and there was no comments about the “potential” of the land. To be honest, it is mostly a potential place, with still quite a bit of fixing up and planning and work to be done, but the mowed grass makes such a difference!!

Kids space

Kids space

image (4)

More kids space and our lovely hammock!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today I made a new discovery. We had friends stop in about a month ago and she is a gardener (this post is mostly for her 🙂 ). As we toured the land and she told me about the different flowers I had (I am not really a gardener, just trying to learn) she pointed out a spot buried under 2 bushes beside my fence and said, “there are irises and lilies under there which may bloom if they had more light, perhaps it would be a good idea to transplant them”. Today I finally went to look at them, I decided to get rid of the one ugly hedge bush, which may very well grow back before the end of summer, but as I did, I discovered that there was actually a flower bed there. The rocks supporting the bed were old and covered in moss and dirt and tree roots which I scraped off as I went, to expose them. I am so happy with the result! It doesn’t look like a lot, but it was so fun cleaning out the little garden and I can’t wait to plant more flowers there next spring. Perhaps we can make a little sign for our acreage too, it would be a good spot.

image

Small, old flower garden near the driveway

Leave a comment